An Award and some Scribery Redeployment


I am honoured to be the recipient of an ‘Excellent Blog’ award from Susan Higginbotham – someone who has been a constant support and aide in my research on Hugh. Thank you Susan – it means a lot to have the Scribery recognised. I’m supposed to now nominate other blogs which I think are excellent. The problem is, most of them have this award already (or have also just been nominated by Susan). So my other nominations are:

Scottish Scribbles Because Scottish history is often unrepresented and there are also wonderful pics on this site.
Women of History Because Melisende always manages to find some interesting topics to blog about.
Got Medieval Because as well as having some great information, it makes me laugh.
Tanzanite’s Shelf and Stuff Because she does great book reviews with some interesting insights.

As for all the other ones which I think are so darn excellent and already have every award under the sun (Edward II, Reading Raving and Ranting by an Historical Fiction Writer, The Lost Fort and also The Yorkist Age) I shall have to get my head around devising an award just for them 😉

And now to the Scribery – or more precisely, The Despensery. Once upon a time I had a most great and brilliant idea that I could run 2 blogs side by side – obviously I had had too much sugar that morning! It has turned out that the clerks I sent over to run the Despensery have been.. shall we say, lax to say the least: sleeping in late, spending all of their time at the tavern across the road playing at dice. Hence, most of the time they were too sozzled or lazy to think of anything funny whilst I was working my socks off on medieval research here.

Hence I have had to resort to some drastic measures in order to save my sanity. For a start I have cut down on my sugar intake so that I don’t get any illusions of being superwomen. next, I have sacked the aforesaid (avantdit) clerks, apart from a couple who will be kept on at the Despensery to handle my fiction extracts. The Scribe’s Den site – handling my non-medieval fiction and poetry – will remain unchanged.

So, what does this mean? It means that the Scribery will now also be handling lighter issues again as well as just academic ones (which will also mean a welcome break from serious stuff for all of us now and again). It will also give me more of a chance to go into the field, so to speak, to do more research instead of worrying about getting the next serious post up. So instead of just being informative, I hope that the Scribery will also be more fun too – and hopefully more people will join in on the comments (no need to worry about a lack of knowledge – an open mind and heart are all that are needed).

As mentioned above, the Despensery will remain as a depository for my Despenser fictional extracts and any other medieval fiction I feel like writing. Or any artwork I may manage on a blue moon! Hopefully this will be the last re-organisation (Yes, I actually think I’m getting the hang of this blog thing now!). There is still an ‘official’ Despenser website planned for the future, but this will be in construction while I concentrate my efforts on my writing and research.

If you have any helpful comments on what you’d like to see, please let me know. You can e-mail me at my e-mail address in the left side bar.

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

