Tempting Fate

Ha – I knew I’d spoken too soon!

After waxing lyrical about the book contract in the last post I’ve just had to walk away from it because the investor wanted to change the contract and payment terms to something completely unacceptable to me.

It just shows how quickly things can change.

But am I downhearted?

Actually, no. I’m quite happy, because, although it’ll mean less money coming in than I’d hoped – it also means that I will have more time to write my Despenser novel – which is, after all, my first passion! So in some strange way I even feel like a weight has been lifted off me. Also, I still have my teaching, which is my second love.

And it’s made me take an important decision: I am not going to accept any more ‘mercenary’ writing work – i.e. ghostwriting – as it’s just not right for me anymore. Instead I’m just going to follow my instinct (and my heart) – it hasn’t let me down so far 🙂

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

