A Writerly Life – Trying Not to Drop My Balls (While Juggling That Is)


The rather dodgy title of this post actually refers to the state of my life at the moment: so many balls in the air that I could do with being one of those Hindu goddesses with six arms! And, as I’ve not yet quite managed to finish the next ‘serious’ post I thought I’d throw in a little 21st century ramble.

As you may remember from a recent post, I am trying to get an online business up and running. Yep, that’s still a goer but – priority-wise- has been pushed back a bit. The reason? Some more writing work has – unexpectedly – come in. I can’t say too much at the moment as I shall be ghost-writing for someone, but I can say that the project is extremely exciting, if not immediately lucrative. So, as it stands at the moment, I am researching and writing blog posts both for this person and for the Scribery too (which means lots of reading and research). There is also the prospect of another ghost-writing job coming on line soon too!

So, I am chaining myself to my computer, getting in barrels of coffee and stamping down hard on procrastination! Any more tips on how to do this will be heartily appreciated :-).

But a little bit about what is coming up in the next few posts… while writing about Robert Baldock and his death in Newgate, I became rather interested in forms of punishment in Edward’s reign. So, the following three or four posts will be on this subject. I already have three lined up on London prisons in Edward’s day and there will also be one on forms of corporal punishment (other than hanging, drawing and quartering which I have already done here). From the number of blog searches I get on the subject of execution (yep, strange, I know), it seems that it is quite a popular topic with more than a few people out there (and the more gory details the better!). And, if it raises my blog stats … ;-).

You might notice the odd poll cropping up now and again too, as I would like to find out what you guys like and don’t like etc, as well as having a bit of fun.

Just to finish things off (not literally!), here are a few photos of the snow we had here during the past week or so which, for us in the UK, was actually quite a lot (and yes, the light really was that grey!):

Taking Poppy for a walk

My daughter Ellie and Poppy at play in a nearby field.

Looking down the road where I live (that blue car in the distance on the right is mine by the way).

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

