Bits and Pieces

First of all, some news! Those who also follow Alianore‘s blog will already have heard this, but for those who haven’t I shall repeat it here too:

Alianore and I have been running two similar (but not quite the same) blogs for some time now and, as we also get on like a castle on fire, we have decided to combine our strengths and develop a large, new and shiny web site together. It will have all the elements of our blogs but hopefully will also have some new stuff too. As always, the aim is to put correct information about our two favourite 14th Century boys – Edward II and Hugh out to those who want to know while also tackling the immense amount of disinformation both on the web and in books. We also want to make it a fun site as well as an informative one – and I have a few ideas for that as well (but I’m afraid you’ll have to wait).

The website is currently in the R&D phase while I look at options, content, layout etc, but on my current timescale calculations I’m hoping for a launch date in August (bear in mind though that I was never any good at maths!). We could chuck one together much quicker – but we really want this to be something special because, as L’Oreal say: ‘you’re worth it!’

Now, onto search terms. Apart from the multitude of hanging, drawing and quartering searches (and variations thereupon), there haven’t been quite so many odd ones this time around. That doesn’t mean that there haven’t been any at all though:

beatiful and amazing medieval writing – why thank you. It’s nice that someone sees my true talent!

strange men’s names – didn’t your mother tell you never to speak to strange men, let alone ask their names?

roger mortimer’s scam – you mean the one where he seduced Isabella of France and used her and her son to invade England and depose Edward????

middlesex man disappears with money and family jewels – I really can’t understand why this search should turn up a blog on Hugh Despenser.

part time jobs for teenagers in tewkesbury – There’s a certain tomb that needs polishing every month…

susan guy beauchamp – a very little known side of the earl of Warwick was that he liked to put on a frock and call himself Susan.

cryptic message – so cryptic, I haven’t a clue what it is.

how to overcome saucery – kill the chef?

Finally – when searching for wonderful websites to get ideas from, I came across this website on the Webby Awards site. It made me laugh, so I thought I’d share them it you:

http://failblog.org/

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

