A Writerly Life

I’m afraid I haven’t had much time to do any research into Despenser-related stuff this week thanks to the on-going Everest-like learning curve that is web site development. But I still wanted to get a post up just in case you all thought I’d got lazy (sipping chilled wine in the sun doesn’t count!).

As I indicated a couple of posts back, Alianore and I will be setting up a super-dooper Edward II website. I am fascinated by design so I volunteered to put the site up. Trouble is, I’ve no experience whatsoever in web-site design etc – none, zilch, nada. Therefore I’ve had to sign up for on-line lessons and have been sitting at my desk, scribbling pad in hand, writing illegible notes as if I was at school. And then, because my brain takes ages to retain anything (unless it is gossip), I’ve had to often go back and sit through it all again the next day!

BUT, I’m pleased to say, I now have the knowledge necessary to complete the task. All that’s needed now is the theme, colours etc. That is a bit more tricky – do we go for a bright, fun site, or a moody, atmospheric one? And how do we marry the information requirements of the Edward II fans, the just-curious, academics and school children?

So, that is the sort of mind-bending stuff I’ve been involved with lately. But, I’m pleased to say, I shall be getting loads of Medieval research done at the end of this week. Alianore is coming over from Germany to join me on a research trip to London to look at Edward’s Chamber Accounts and various other documents we are dying to see (and which so far have not been fully translated or widely made available). It’s going to be a pretty intense three days and we’ll probably not get everything done that we want to on this trip – but there again that means there will have to be others!!

The Chamber Accounts show Edward’s financial incomings and outgoings as related to the chamber (and hence controlled by the Chamberlain). Therefore, it is to be hoped that there may be some interesting expenses in there, especially during the period of Hugh being the Chamberlain. Thinking about it, it’s actually quite topical considering the expenses rows going on in our Parliament at the moment – although I haven’t heard about any MPs claiming for the services of minstrels yet!

So wish us luck – we may need it in navigating the etiquettes and protocols of manuscript libraries, not to mention the London Underground! After those things, translation should be a cinch!

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

