Destrier Weekend at Camelford

There will be another Hugh post along shortly – I am in the middle of preparing it. But to avoid a ‘post drought’ I thought I’d share a video with you. It’s from footage taken by some wonderful un-named and unknown (to me) person at the Camelford Charter 750 Medieval Joust which I attended as a member of Destrier (my first show!). This site is supposed to be the location of Camlann, Arthur’s last battle, so it was quite fitting to have such an event here.

Here are Destrier in action – thanks also to Nathan Bale for putting the footage together.

It’s always good to see knights in action – even if they aren’t 14th century!And if you are wondering where I am, thankfully I am a tiny dot in the distance! And just in case you were wondering, yes, those are the modern equivalent of destriers and they require a degree of skill to handle them.

It was a fantastic show and I really enjoyed my time there, despite having to come home early through illness – next time I shall be seriously reconsidering the camping option!

Thankyou to everyone in Destrier who made me feel welcome and also for all the laughter!

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

