A Little Update and Tewkesbury Medieval Festival 2009

While the next ‘Hugh’ post is still in progress, I’ll just let you know how the work on the new web site is going. All of my archived posts are now loaded onto it and the ‘design’ work has also been finished. ‘All’ I have to do now is to load Alianore’s posts (which will probably take the next few weeks!), cross link everything, get it online and test. But I can tell you already (at the risk of blowing my own trumpet) that it looks fab.

Both blogs will still appear and be easy to access and there will also be an Edward II merchandise page! Alianore and I are hoping to have guest writers as well. Fingers crossed, this will be one of the biggest and best history sites on the web. And, if things go well there are also plans for an Edward II Society and, if I can work it, virtual tours of castles by videocam.

I am really getting into this new technology stuff! Last weekend I went to Tewkesbury Medieval Festival – as I do every year. As always, it was fantastic and the stalls tempted alot of money from my purse. I even have a new 15th C costume for Destrier events, including some authentic leather shoes which will need a bit of breaking in! Anyway, back to the technology: I took some video while I was there – nothing to get too excited about though, unless you were taking part. I filmed the long (8 mins) walk past of all the re-enactors marching down to the battlefield. Among them was newsman John Sergeant, who was doing some filming and also the ‘Despenser’ crew I talked to last year. If you are interested, the video is below – as you’ll see, I had some fun with iMovie doing it!

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

