The Website, Getting Ready for the ‘Big Write’ and other stuff

A round up on a few things…

Website:
The transferring of content from both my own and Alianore’s blogs onto the main website is almost done (phew!). As I’m sure you can imagine – there is alot of it – over 200 pages so far! And it all has to be formatted and linked etc, etc, etc! But, I’m now a week or so away to the first live test, so the launch date is looking good for the beginning-mid October – as long as nothing goes hideously wrong!

The ‘Big Write’
Well, I call it that anyway. Once the website is up and running I am going into a sort of semi-seclusion in order to write my Despenser novel. The reason I started the blog in the first place was due to researching the darn thing but now I feel I have enough to start the first draft in earnest. Lots of scenes are already coming to mind and flowing easily onto the page – always a good sign. As you would expect, it will be as historically accurate as possible but it will also be, in some places, quite graphic too. In fact, think of The Tudors – but with more accuracy and you will have some sense of the tone and atmosphere.

However, in order to concentrate on this, I will have to cut back a bit on blog posts – especially the heavily researched ones (unless it happens to be something I am writing on at the time), This doesn’t mean that I won’t be posting at all though – either here or on the new website – and hopefully I will still be putting the odd historical post combined with writing updates (and maybe snippets) and also some lighter stuff. There just may be some longer gaps in between posts. So please bear with me and hopefully your patience will be rewarded when the novel is done.

The Hulton Skeleton – again.
Finally, some UK viewers may have seen a small piece about Hugh Despenser on the One Show the other night. This was basically rehashed information from February 2008 about the finding of a skeleton at Hulton Abbey bearing the marks of being hung, drawn and quartered. It is the archaeologist’s belief that the bones belong to Hugh. Although in some ways it would be nice to know his remains had been discovered, I do have some serious doubts which I laid out in this post. Even so, it was still good to see Hugh’s name mentioned on prime time TV!

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

