The New Home of Lady Despenser’s Scribery

Ah, good, you got here OK. 🙂

And why the change, you may ask? Well…

Even my legendary patience has a limit.

The other day Blogger annoyed me one too many times. I was trying to put up a post on Tretower Castle (the next post – on the way) and it played such merry hell with my photos that I ended up with a headache from banging my head on the wall so many times! Added to that I really hate the tiny text entry screen – it makes me feel claustrophobic. So… I put my pattens on over my court shoes and trudged through the mud of cyber space over to WordPress. For some reason I’ve avoided WordPress in the past (haven’t a clue why), but over a few days of setting up this new site and playing around with it, I like what I see. I hope you like the new blog too. There are still some things I’ve yet to do, such as put up the blogroll, but these things will get done as and when I have a moment in between the writing.

Talking of which, it’s still moving forwards. I’ve had a few domestic interruptions followed by a small spell of apathy and procrastination (for which I’ve given myself a severe kick up the backside!), but it is now back on course. And now I have my new solar shielding in my sun lounge roof (and a room cooler as back-up), I can work on stuff even on the hottest of days.

Anyway, please make sure you update your bookmarks (and blog rolls if applicable) with the new address, and I look forward to seeing you here again very shortly when I post about Tretower Castle!

About Jules Frusher

With an MA in Creative and Critical Writing, I am passionate about the written word. The other great loves of my life are all things Medieval (especially Hugh le Despenser the Younger) and animal behaviour (especially canids and corvids). Give me a castle in the wilderness (with Broadband!) and I'll be happy!
This entry was posted in procrastination, words and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The New Home of Lady Despenser’s Scribery

  1. Gabriele says:

    Well, as long as you don’t move to Facebook. 😉

    The one way to get photos behave on Blogger is to use the HTML setting for posting, not the text one, and then knowing how to deal with that odd mix of xHTML and CSS code Blogger uses. So far I prefer wrestling with Blogger to dealing with those WordPress templates you can’t really customize. I’m also not sure how many photos you can upload on WordPress.

  2. Actually – I am on Facebook lol! But not exclusively! Although I’m getting more skilled at HTML/CSS these days, I’d rather not mess around with it because more often than not I get it wrong and then spend ages trying to get it all back to where I started again! I’m not too worried about the lack of customability at the moment as I’m quite happy with what I found. As for pictures – they do have quite a large upload limit, and you can always purchase more space at a reasonable fee if you go over. At present, even with all my old pics on, I am nowhere near that.

  3. Brian says:

    Nice pictures Jules!

Leave a Reply

